Page is loading...
Skip to main content

Alumni Awards

The 2023 Recipients: 

Join us at for this year's Alumni Achievement Reception on October 13th in the SMSU Conference Center from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. Register for this event, below. 

Register Here! 

Alumni Achievement Award

This award is presented to a graduate in recognition of their remarkable professional success and the positive reflection made on the reputation of all graduates of SMSU. 

  • Wayne "Cookie" Cook '73 
  • Bruce '89 and Linda '90 Saugstad
  • Dr. Mark Wallert '83

Past Alumni Achievement Winners

GOLD (Graduate of Last Decade) Award

This award is presented to a graduate of southwest Minnesota State University. The GOLD Award is to recognize recent graduates with exceptional achievement and significant contribution to the recipient's profession, community/society, or university. The graduate must have graduated within the past ten years. 

  • Rachel '13 and Maxx '13 Raths

Past GOLD Award Winners

Honorary Lifetime Membership Award

This award is presented to an individual or couple who are not an SMSU graduate, but give their time, talents, and enthusiasm as if they were.

  • Robert Byrnes

Past Honorary Lifetime Winners

John & Kathy Paxton Alumni Service Award

This award is presented to a candidate who demonstrates outstanding service to SMSU. 

  • Jason Mortvedt '78
Back to Top