Each year SMSU recognizes alumni and friends who have made significant contributions of time, talent or financial contributions to help advance and bring positive recognition to Southwest Minnesota State University.  The SMSU Alumni Association awards luncheon was held at the SMSU Conference Center on Friday, September 29th, 2017 at noon.


Next year's Alumni Awards Luncheon will take place on Friday, October 5th, 2018. Winners have not been selected yet. Do you know someone who deserves recognition for professional success? Fill out our nomination form!

This award is presented to a graduate in recognition of their remarkable professional success and the positive reflection made on the reputation of all graduates of SMSU.  The 2017 recipients are:

Sheila Anderson '95
Craig Porter '79

Curtis Weber '80

View our past Alumni Achievement Members here!


GOLD (Graduate of Last Decade) AWARD
This award is presented to a graduate of Southwest Minnesota State University. The GOLD Award is to recognize recent graduates with exceptional achievement and significant contribution to the recipient's profession or community/society or university. The graduate must have graduated in the past ten years. The 2017 award winner is:


Ryan Ross '08


View our past GOLD Members here!


This award is presented to an individual or couple who are not an SMSU graduate but give their time, talents, and enthusiasm as if they were. The 2017 award winner is:


Dr. Emily Deaver


View our past Honorary Lifetime Members here!